back to Homepage

Magnolia Education Scholarship Ministry

The Magnolia Education Scholarship Fund was organized and founded December 10, 1970, by Ruthie Stout Gray, under the pastorate of Rev. R. L. Mitchell. Its uniqueness is attributed to unity, respect, loyalty, and sincerity of each member. There were nine original members: Mildred Neely Moore, Diane Wooden, Jerry Moore, Earline Wooden, Tony Taylor, Claudette Williams, Carolyn Wooden, Lawrence Wooten, and Cheryl D. Winfrey, some of which have finished various colleges and universities in this country. Mrs. Florine Hinds and Mrs. Doris Williams were also instrumental along with Ruthie Stout Gray in initiating the Magnolia Education Scholarship Fund. The first fundraiser, a car wash, was held in April 1971. The profit was eleven dollars. Other fundraisers were sponsored, and very little profit was earned, but the members of the organization didn’t become discouraged. In February 1971, the first meeting was held at Magnolia First Baptist Church. The primary purpose of the Education Scholarship Fund is to render financial assistance to college students. We have issued over two hundred donations to students who are members of the church. On December 13, 1987, Laurinda Brown, a freshman at Howard University was awarded $1,000 academic scholarship. With God’s blessings, we will obtain our ultimate goal, which is to present a four year scholarship to a deserving college student.